Book Review

Book Review: The Book Of Witty Women Introduced by Helen Lederer #TheBookOfWittyWomen @HelenLederer @CWIPprize @farragobooks @RandomTTours

Synopsis

The Book of Witty Women showcases the very best in humorous short story writing, by outstanding contemporary women writers, including Kathy Lette, Sadia Azmat, Lucy Vine, Josie Long, Paula Lennon, and many more.

It includes the winning and shortlisted stories from the Comedy Women in Print Short Story Prize. From tales of a narcoleptic biscuit lover, con artists with a twist, and the accidental death of a hamster; to consequences of accidental gluing, the imagined world of extreme shopping, and the delightfully surreal world of canine dating, these 15 boldly imaginative stories range across a multitude of genres and themes.

Each proves the power of the short story to disarm, tickle or simply entertain.

My Review

This collection of 15 humorous short stories is just what I needed after a long day at work.

What I liked is that I could pick up this book and read as many or as few of the stories that I wanted to. It’s definitely a book that I would turn to if I was in a reading slump or wanted to read something that wasn’t particularly long. The stories were brilliant and no two were the same. They were all funny, memorable and had me giggling or laughing out loud. I liked that the subject range of each story varied from arranging a birthday party, to arranging a funeral, to travelling home while keeping a secret, a story told from the perspective of a dog, to a character inadvertently gluing themselves to a supermarket check out. It’s the range of stories that made this feel like a fresh read for me. As I started a new story I was introduced to a new character and their world. In some instances I wished that the story was a little longer and would have happily read more to find out what happened next. For example what the next step was for Shamaila in Fake It Till You Make It.

I really enjoyed all of the stories but if I had to pick a favourite it would be Care Home Capers. That was the story that really made me laugh and warmed my heart because it involved a school choir and recorder group who attend a care home for the elderly and the residents aren’t completely ecstatic about the experience. However it does make them set up their own choir and put on a performance for the children at school.

A range of stories that will make you smile.

1 thought on “Book Review: The Book Of Witty Women Introduced by Helen Lederer #TheBookOfWittyWomen @HelenLederer @CWIPprize @farragobooks @RandomTTours”

Leave a comment